Programs

Sakya Thupten Dargye Ling’s programs are held via Zoom. To join, please email programs@mnsakyacenter.org for the Zoom link and passcode.

January 2023 Programs

An Offering Ritual to the Glorious Holy Guru

to honor and remember His Eminence Luding Khenchen Rinpoche's immense kindness

with Khenpo Thupten Gongphel

Monday, January 2, 2023
7:30 PM Central Time (Minnesota)
8:30 PM Eastern / 6:30 PM Mountain / 5:30 PM Pacific

As you may have already heard the heart-rendering news, His Eminence Luding Khenchen Rinpoche has entered into parinirvana. To honor and remember Rinpoche’s immense kindness, we have changed our upcoming program on January 2, 2023.  Khenpo Thupten Gongphel will lead a guru puja. Also, Khenpo will lead us in reciting verses of homage to Lopon Sonam Tsemo, the second of the five superior founders of the Sakya order, on his parinirvana anniversary.  All are welcome.  To join via Zoom, please email programs@mnsakyacenter.org

*Please maintain a vegetarian diet before the program.

The prayer texts will be shared on Zoom with the participants.

Homage Prayer to Choje Sakya Pandita and Teachings on Kamalashila's Stages of Meditation

with Khenpo Thupten Gongphel

Sunday, January 8
10 AM Central Time (Minnesota)
11 AM Eastern / 9 AM Mountain / 8 AM Pacific

The prayer texts will be shared on Zoom with the participants.

On January 8, we will recite the homage prayer to Choje Sakya Pandita, to honor his parinirvana anniversary this month.

Also on January 8, Khenpo Thupten Gongphel will resume teachings to guide us in our meditation practice. Kamalashila was an Indian master, professor of Nalanda University, and a disciple of the great abbot Shantarakshita. Kamalashila came to Tibet in the eighth century and helped establish the tradition of gradual meditation in Tibet. He composed Stages of Meditation, a fundamental treatise for the study and practice of calm-abiding and insight meditation.

Homage Prayer to Drogon Chogyal Phakpa and Teachings on Kamalashila's Stages of Meditation

with Khenpo Thupten Gongphel

Sunday, January 15
10 AM Central Time (Minnesota)
11 AM Eastern / 9 AM Mountain / 8 AM Pacific

The prayer texts will be shared on Zoom with the participants.

On January 15, we will recite the homage prayer to Drogon Chogyal Phakpa, to honor his parinirvana anniversary this month. Also, Khenpo Thupten Gongphel will continue teachings on the Stages of Meditation

Teachings on Kamalashila's Stages of Meditation

with Khenpo Thupten Gongphel

Sundays, January 22 & 29
10 AM Central Time (Minnesota)
11 AM Eastern / 9 AM Mountain / 8 AM Pacific

The prayer texts will be shared on Zoom with the participants.

Book Reading and Reflection

In the Footsteps of Bodhisattvas: Buddhist Teachings on the Essence of Meditation by Phakchok Rinpoche

Begins Sunday, January 15
7 PM Central Time (Minnesota)
8 PM Eastern / 6 PM Mountain / 5 PM Pacific

The program will be held most Sundays until we finish the book

Please email 
programs@mnsakyacenter.org
if you are interested in joining and to receive periodic updates.

We will learn about the path of meditation training framed by the Buddha’s words in the King of Samadhi Sutra and explained in this book by Phakchok Rinpoche, a Tibetan Buddhist lineage holder and descendant of Chokgyur Dechen Lingpa.  The book is available through Amazon and other book sellers.

The term “meditation” is often spoken of as a single, uniform practice, but in fact there are innumerable techniques that can be employed to achieve different ends. However, to make real progress in any practice, the methods need to be paired with a view of how our minds and our experience of the world around us really work. In this practical and experiential guide, Phakchok Rinpoche teaches us how to achieve this correct view so we can genuinely practice a meditation that will transform our lives by helping us abandon our own bad habits and hypocrisy. In this way, we will make real progress on the path to true freedom from the cyclic patterns we follow that only lead to unhappiness. 

Our program will follow the sequence of listening to the teachings by reading together, followed by contemplation and meditation.  To learn more about this threefold sequence, click this link for an explanation by His Holiness the 41st Sakya Trichen.

 

線上綠度母四曼達共修 Chinese-Language Green Tara Four-Mandala Practice

with Khenpo Thupten Gongphel & Kunga Tamang

co-hosted with LA Tsechen Chokhor Ling

1/1/2023  (Sunday 週日)
晚9點(美國中部時間)/ 7點(美國西部時間)